Photos: Studio Shoot

Posted: May 3, 2013 in Uncategorized

For my studio shoot, I used the following equipment setup:

  • 1 x Sigma macro lens 50mm (canon fit)
  • 4 x Bowens Gemini lights 750w
  • 3 x Softboxes
  • 1 x Beauty dish + grid
  • 1 x Flash trigger
  • Portable shooting table
  • 3 x C stands
  • 1 x Backlight stand
  • 4 x Sandbags/weights
  • 1 x Punnet of strawberries
  • 1 x White sheet
  • 1 x White bowl
  • 1 x White plate
  • 1 x White placemat
  • 1 x Small blue dish
  • 1 x Blue tea towel

General Light setup:

IMG_6322 IMG_6323 IMG_6325

Prior to the shoot, I had a rough plan for my lighting setup. Within this, I wanted to work with even, consistent and soft lighting . Then, if needed, using the beauty dish to define or fill in unflattering shadows. I decided to use the flash trigger in the left main light. I needed to experiment for a while to find which settings allowed for correct exposure and composition.

IMG_5976

AP 5 SS 100 ISO 200

IMG_5979

AP 5 SS 125 ISO 200

IMG_5980

AP 5 SS 125 ISO 200

IMG_5981

AP 4.5 SS 160 ISO 100

AP SS ISO

IMG_5984

AP 4.5 SS 160 ISO 100

I then started the process of experimenting with compositions featuring the strawberries, various dishes and tablecloth.

I found this shoot to be fairly challenging at first. Due to unexpected circumstances, I was unable to use a macro lens for a large part of the shoot. From this, I had to be very precise with manual focus when aiming to highlight particular fruit(s) within the frame and creating a flattering, softened blur upon the background.

I tried to consider my research and test shots when experimenting with different compositions and lighting effects. There were different appeals to both the clean, white images and the more colourful, still life images, some of the best images aimed to offer a balanced approach somewhere between the two distinct aesthetic styles.

Throughout the shoot, I started to feel more confident within my studio space. My compositions became visually stronger and well thought out. After a while, I tried to visualize how it might appear in a publication. For example, the format and compositional style for a main cover image, centre page feature or supporting detail shot.

 

I will review my images further and begin to select the most appropriate and visually successful images. As I am required to submit one image, I will need to be quite strict in my selection process.

Leave a Reply

